The Making of a Love Story

My Dear Michelle,

As I am heading off to Indiana to investigate a new chapter for our life together, I am reminded of how it all began.  Since I love to tell the story, I hope you don’t mind if I share it with you.

Chapter One
Edina Encounter
What a wonderful day it was to visit Northwestern Bookstore in Edina! My mind was focused on Christian materials as I entered and my heart was focused on the beauty of a young woman as I exited. I realize you didn’t remember me, but you made quite an impression on me that day. Every time I would return, I looked for that woman with the auburn, curly hair. I would spot you occasionally, but not nearly enough.

It is so hard to believe that the woman I admired from a distance, is now that woman I admire right beside me.

Chapter Two
Where Would I Be Without Northwestern?
Could two years have passed since that first encounter in Edina? The last thing on my mind was love, but my first look at you changed that in a hurry.

I couldn’t believe it! There you were! Right before my eyes and you even talked to me! Well, I guess you HAD to, but I’ll take what I can get. I loved talking to you about missions and youth ministry and mutual acquaintances. You were so beautiful, so sweet and kind and gentle. STEM Team 212. You giving me your name and phone number. It was all so great…no wonder I walked away planning our life together!

Isn’t God good? Michelle, you are the treasure he gave to me. You are much more precious to me than a wonderful job in Indiana. Oh how I love you! And I know that that love will continue to grow.

I know that there are more chapters for us to write – I am so blessed to be writing them with you!

Mark

Leave a comment